Gazing at the pond, I spotted some ducks wading in their mellow marsh. Then I noticed a giant boulder adjacent to the water. Pulling out the bread I had in my coat pocket, I thought, ‘that would be a good place to feed the ducks from.’ So with spirited purpose, I jumped up onto the boulder and just as I did, the whole pond erupted into an agitated mass of fleeing frightened ducks. My leaping action onto the boulder apparently did not do much for my welcome.

However, food being the ultimate placater to their distress, the ducks cautiously returned to find bread raining on the water below my rock. Then I noticed that they started to squabble over the bread. It appeared that some of the pieces were too large for them to eat which caused bickering; the ducks competed to see who could force the bread down their throats the fastest – before someone else could take it away from them. Somewhat amused by this, but then curious, I threw in the last few pieces of bread and then left.

Later in the day, while in contemplation, these same ducks paid me a visit. This is what they taught me:

  • When feeding us, be gentle in your approach lest you scare your audience away.
  • Feed us at our level; do not feed down to us.
  • Remember, smaller bits of food are easier to digest.
  • Finally, and most importantly, allow your giving to nourish your living.

I see ducks differently now.

Randy Quackfall (giggle) ღƪ(ˆ◡ˆ)ʃ ☼

